Texas Gridiron Scholarships —

Click here for Requirements

Click here for Application–Apply by Dec. 1!


Donna Darovich $1,500

Recognizes excellence in writing across all sections — news, arts, lifestyle, people stories. As a Star-Telegram reporter, Donna Darovich won consecutive feature-writing first places in Associated Press Managing Editors competitions. Texas Press Women twice named her the state’s Most Outstanding Woman Journalist.

 Jerry Flemmons $1,000

Jerry Flemmons excelled at features. This scholarship rewards outstanding feature writing.

 Joe Holstead $1,000

Recognizes superior broadcast journalism. Texas Radio Hall of Fame member Joe Holstead was one of Fort Worth-Dallas’ most revered news personalities.

Staley and Beverly McBrayer $2,000

Recognizes excellence in college student media or as an intern with a professional news organization. This is considered Fort Worth SPJ’s Most Valuable Player awar

d. Staley McBrayer marketed the offset press, which revolutionized the printing industry.

Al Panzera $1,000

Recognizes outstanding photojournalism.  Star-Telegram photographer Al Panzera designed “Big Bertha,” a 4×5 Graflex telephoto camera customized for sports.

Jack B. Tinsley $1,500

Recognizes excellence in opinion writing such as columns and editorials. Jack Tinsley was Star-Telegram executive editor from 1975 to 1986 and led the paper to two Pulitzer Prizes.


Honors the memory of longtime Arlington, Texas, educator and mentor Lina Davis, a progressive and nurturing journalism teacher at Sam Houston and Arlington high schools. Several Lina Davis Scholarships may be awarded each year.


This scholarship is intended for students with great financial need. It celebrates the contributions to journalism and journalism education of author/teacher Jay Milner, who is perhaps best known for his “Confessions of a Maddog: A Romp Through the High-Flying Texas Music and Literary Era of the Fifties to the Seventies.”


Some 2017 Scholarship winners with Scholarship VP Tom Williams and FOiFT Executive Director Kelley Shannon at the Banquet. Photography by Bob Booth




SPJ Fort Worth Reaves-King Mid-Career Grant

(click here to learn more)

This grant grew out of veteran Texas journalist (and former SPJ Fort Worth president) Gayle Reaves-King’s desire to help news media professionals take advantage of continuing-education opportunities, since many news organizations no longer pay for such training. Fort Worth SPJ’s Board of Directors named the award for Reaves-King to honor her service to the chapter and the profession.