SPJ FW 2016 Award & Scholarship Winners Banquet Fun

First Amendment Award winners and Scholarship recipients shined brightly during the 2016 banquet April 22 in Arlington.

SPJ Fort Worth Pro chapter presented more than 2o awards and more than $36,000 in college scholarships to 13 students during the exciting event at Cacharel’s restaurant.

Attendees enjoyed adult beverages, Cacharel’s pecan-crusted chicken and their incredible chocolate souffle while celebrating the winners.  Before the night ended, the winners and their friends were treated to some creative photo sessions in the 1twoshare Photobooth.

The Scholarship winners are:  

Haley Britzky Texas Tech
Esteban Bustillos UT Dallas
Autumn Bernhard Texas State
Sorayah Zahir UT Arlington
Mariah Medina Texas State
Jessica Hubble Baylor
Parastoo Nikravesh Stephen F. Austin
Jacklyn York Midwestern State
Dylan Bradley UT Arlington
Claire Girman TCU
Anna Gutierrez UT Arlington
Tabitha Redder UT Arlington
Erin Straub UT Arlington

Register for the SPJ Region 8 Conference

spj8conf16Join us for the SPJ Region 8 Conference March 18-19 at the Historic Hilton Hotel in downtown Fort Worth. This year’s event will feature Jim Angle, former FOX, CNN, ABC and NPR news broadcaster, and Frank LoMonte, Student Press Law Center executive director.

Sessions will explore the business of freelancing, diversity, social media, investigative reporting, data gathering and press rights. Click here to see the exciting sessions scheduled!

Read more…