Congratulations to 2017 Award Winners, Thanks to Sponsors!

FOIFT Executive Director Kelley Shannon, Keynote Speaker for the Awards Banquet. Speaker. Photography by Bob Booth


We raised than $3,000 for our scholarship foundation and had a great time learning from Freedom of Information Foundation Texas Executive Director Kelley Shannon about what we can do to protect our rights to open information in Texas government.

A Special Thank You to our Sponsors:

Frost Bank

Tarrant County College District, Chancellor’s Office

The Collegian, Tarrant County College

UT Arlington President’s Office

UT Arlington Department of Communication

University of North Texas Mayborn School of Journalism

Myron and Betty Kimball

SPJ Fort Worth longtime members and journalism legends (L-R) John Dycus Janet Neff (background)
and Dorothy Estes. Photography by Bob Booth

Texas Christian University Bob Schieffer School of Journalism

John and Sue Gilbert

Trophy Arts

The Shorthorn/Student Publications, UT Arlington

Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Haynes & Boone, LLP



Open Door Winner–Lifetime Achievement Award

Open Door Award Winmer Bob Ray Sanders with Gayle Reaves-King. Photography by Bob Booth

 2017 First Amendment Contest Award Winners

Open Doors Award: 

Bob Ray Sanders, retired Fort Worth Star-Telegram reporter/editor/columnist

General News:

Print/online over 100K–Eva Maria Ayala—The Dallas Morning News

Print/online under 100K—Dianna Wray– Houston Press

 General News Spanish Language:

Print/Online over 100k—Al Dia Dallas—Karina Ramirez

Broadcast large market—Telemundo Houston—Crystal Ayala, Jose Luis  Castillo, Elizabeth Franco & Gabriel Cantu

SPJFW Board Member Rebecca Aguilar with Award winners from Telemundo Dallas and Houston, Photography by Bob Booth.



Print/online over 100K—Houston Chronicle—Brian Rosenthal and Marie D. DeJesus

Print/online under 100K—Houston Press—Steve Miller

Broadcast large market—NBC5 –DFW  Investigative Team— Eva Parks,  Scott Friedman & Peter Hull

     Broadcast medium market—Texas Standard–Alain Stephens and Hannah  McBride

 Investigative Spanish Language:

Print/online over 100K—Al Dia/The Dallas Morning News—Ana Azpurua, Juan Jaramillo & Dianne Solis

Broadcast large market—Telemundo Dallas—Yezmin Thomas & Sergio Alvarado

Broadcast medium market—Telemundo40 McAllen—Ana Cecilia Mendez, Sergio Mendoza & Sergio Garcia

Longtime SPJ members (L-R) Mike Cochran, Eddye Gallagher and Sondra Cochran, Photography by Bob Booth


 Reporting on Open Government:

Print/Online over 100K—Texas Tribune—Jolie McCullough, Alexa Ura,

Ryan Murphy, Ben Hassoon & Johnathan Silver 

Broadcast medium market—Texas Public Radio—David Martin Davies

 Defending the Disadvantaged:

Print/online over 100K—Texas Tribune—Matthew Watkins & Neena Satija

Print/online under 100K–Texas Observer—Patrick Michels and Gus Bova;

Corpus Christi Caller Times–Natalia Contreras and Krista Torralva

Broadcast medium market—Texas Public Radio—Paul Flahive

 Business News:

Print/online over 100K—Fort Worth Star-Telegram—Max Baker

Print/online under 100K—Houston Press—Megan Flynn

 Environmental News:

Print/online over 100K—Texas Tribune/ProPublica—Neena Satifa (TT),

Kiah Collier (TT), Al Shaw (PP) & Jeff Larson (PP)

Broadcast medium market—Texas Public Radio—David Martin Davies


Print/online over 100K—Texas Tribune–Jay Root, Alexa Ura, Todd Wiseman & Julian Aguilar


Texas Tribune reporter Johnathan Silver displays the Tribune’s many new awards. Photography by Bob Booth